top of page

Top 10 Things I Played On 2017! [REMASTERED]

Updated: Sep 19, 2020


Because I wanted to do one of those obligatory lists but didn't actually play enough [CURRENT YEAR] games to justify one.


 

Umineko no naku koro ni is not just good. Its not just great, its not just amazing. The only word I can use to describe it is beautiful. There is no story as profound, moving and complex as this one. Any word I can say right now other than that would not give it justice, so just follow my advice and read it. You will find that you are not the same person you were from when you started it.

 

My favorite game exclusive to this year. A game so full of meaning and excellence that I had to write a full analysis. Along with its predecessor, NieR: Automata was a high point of my year in games.

 

Its strange, funny and then it gets heartrending.


 


I wrote a review giving the game praises back when it first came out, and I still stand by everything I said there to this day. It is an excellent game that surpasses its predecessors in gameplay and aesthetic while also delivering a powerful experience that will remain a part of your memory.

 

This game definitely deserves its high praise. Not just for its incredibly compelling Action Role-Playing mechancs, but for the world it created and the themes that are portrayed through the journey through this world alone.

 

Another example of excellence in design. Definitely one of the most compelling JRPGs ever made, both in terms of gameplay and design. Its a game significant enough to be worth discussing even to this day.

 

This game surprised me up until the very end. It was a very well crafted experience that I recommend to anyone who owns the console. Its a very creative, unique and special game that gave me more than I could ever have hoped for.

 

If not for its faults, then this game would be much higher up on this list. Another experience that required a long form analysis to to be made justice. A game I hold very dear despite its imperfections.

 

A thoroughly enjoyable, satisfying action game made with the utmost attention to every aspect of its design. It doesn't try to be more than what it is, and for its excellence at doing just that, it deserves merit.


 

A well rounded improvement upon the original game that offered just the right amount of challenge, variety and fun gameplay to make the list.


 

HONORABLE MENTIONS

Mario and Luigi: Bowser's Inside Story and The World Ends With You couldn't make the list because I didn't play them for the first time this year. I also would've wanted to include Final Fantasy XV on an ideal world where the game wasn't full of faults.


38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page